Search Type
Categories Menu
United States Travel Advice

United States Travel Advice

On March 6, 2017, United States President Donald Trump signed an Executive Order (EO) impacting entry into the United States for citizens of: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

While legal injunctions have previously limited the implementation of the EO, the Supreme Court of the United States is allowing much of the EO to be implemented until they have a chance to hear legal arguments on the case. The legal arguments will happen no earlier than October 2017.

This document will be updated as new information becomes available.

Citizens of the above-noted countries can expect to have visa applications refused and/or to be denied entry during the effective period of the EO, unless they:

  1. Already have a valid visa for entry into the U.S., or;
  2. They are legal permanent residents of the U.S., or;
  3. They have already been granted refugee status and their travel had already been scheduled by the U.S. Department of State, or;
  4. They have multiple citizenships and are travelling on the passport of a country not included in the EO, or;
  5. They are legal permanent residents of Canada and have successfully applied for a visa and waiver from the EO at a U.S. visa office in Canada, or;
  6. They have “a relationship with a parent, spouse, child, adult son or daughter, son-in-law, daughter-in-law or sibling already in the United States”, or;
  7. They have a business or professional relationship that is “formal, documented and formed in the ordinary course rather than for the purpose of evading” the ban.

This is correct to the best of our knowledge but should not be the sole source of information when determining how the ban may impact nationals of the identified countries. QUIC has compiled the following list of resources to assist you in making travel plans.  It is strongly recommended that you monitor these and other websites for information/updates on this situation.  The websites listed below will offer the most immediate and comprehensive updates. QUIC cannot be held responsible for difficulties caused by information found on this page.

For citizens of countries listed on the EO currently in Canada on a study permit:


For citizens of countries listed on the EO that ALSO hold a Canadian Permanent Resident Card (i.e. Permanent Residents/Landed Immigrants of Canada, not including refugees):

Permanent Residents of Canada whose citizenship is included in the listed countries are eligible to apply within Canada for a visa, and a waiver from the EO.


For dual citizens who have Canadian citizenship AND citizenship from one of the countries listed on the EO:

The Government of Canada has been informed that Canadians travelling with a Canadian passport (including dual citizens who have Canadian citizenship and citizenship from one of the following countries: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen) will not be affected by the Executive Order.


For citizens of countries listed on the EO, AND who, due to the EO, may be stranded in Canada:

Anyone traveling to the United States on Queen’s related business (including conferences) should complete an Off-campus Activity Safety Policy – Safety Planning Record (OCASP).
Those eligible to seek entry into the United States can get more information about doing so on the Visiting the United States page of our website.